Bromley’s proposed constituency changes

PUBLISHED: 14:36 14 September 2011

Orpington MP Jo Johnson

Orpington MP Jo Johnson


A consultation into proposed changes to constituency boundaries began on Tuesday.

Bromley borough comprises of three constituencies – Bromley and Chislehurst, with Bob Neil as the MP; Orpington, represented bv Jo Johnson and Beckenham, where Bob Stewart is the MP. All are Conservative.

The Boundary Commission intends to keep three constituencies but wants to shuffle some of the wards around within them.

It plans to move one ward – Cray Valley West from Bromley and Chislehurst into the Orpington constituency and proposes to move two wards – Bromley Common and Keston and Hayes and Coney Hall from the Beckenham constituency into Bromley and Chislehurst.

It is also proposing to move Clock House, Crystal Palace and Penge and Cator into Beckenham from Lewisham West and Penge.

The number of constituencies in England is being reduced from 533 to 502.

For more information on the proposals see www.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Bromley Times. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Bromley Times