Local election: Conservatives retain control of Bromley

PUBLISHED: 16:46 04 May 2018 | UPDATED: 16:46 04 May 2018

Colin Smith, Conservative leader of Bromley Council, and Angela Wilkins, Labour group leader, both kept their seats.Photos: Bromley Council

Colin Smith, Conservative leader of Bromley Council, and Angela Wilkins, Labour group leader, both kept their seats.Photos: Bromley Council


The Conservatives have retained control of Bromley Council.

The local election was for all 60 councillors across the 22 wards, with the count starting today, Friday, May 4, the morning after voting.

Before the votes were in, there were previously 48 Conservatives to Labour’s seven, three Independents and Ukip had two.

The first result was around 90 minutes in with Richard Scoates easily taking Darwin for the Conservatives with a 73per cent share of the votes.

After all the votes were counted, the Tories had taken 50 seats, Labour now has eight with the Independents taking two. Ukip were wiped out, losing their two seats.

Current council leader Colin Smith won his seat in Bickley coming third of the three Conservative candidates in the ward. Each took 20pc of the vote, with the rest trailing far behind.

Deputy leader Peter Fortune held his seat in Hayes and Coney Hall along with two other Conservatives.

Leader of the Labour Group, Angela Wilkins, held her seat at Crystal Palace with 33pc of the vote. Labour took both seats in the ward, far ahead of the Green candidate Mark Phillippo, who took just 9pc of the votes with 536 in third place.

Mayor Kathy Bance and her fellow Labour candidates held their seats in Penge and Cator, but she was well ahead of them both, putting the Conservatives in fourth, sixth and seventh, with a fraction of the Labour vote.

The council is also one of those that took part in a pilot scheme, run by the Cabinet Office which required voters to bring ID in order to vote.

Some were critical early on. Ellie Reeves, the MP for Lewisham West, Tweeted that some had been turned away for having no ID, and added: “Very worrying and backs up all the evidence that the voter ID pilot in Bromley is plain wrong.”

Resident Peter White, 72, was turned away and said: “This is a nonsense scheme.”

And the Labour leader Angela Wilkins said: “Thirteen people turned away from Crystal Palace polling stations. Why are we doing this?”

She also claimed people simply walked off because of the queues.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Bromley Times. Click the link in the orange box above for details.



  • Bob Stewart (Con) 27,955
  • Marina Ahmad (Lab), 9,484
  • Rob Bryant (Ukip) 6,108
  • Anuja Prashar (Lib Dem), 3,378
  • Ruth Fabricant (Green) 1,878

Majority: 18,471

Bromley and Chislehurst

  • Bob Neill (Con) 23,343
  • John Courtneidge (Lab) 9,779
  • Emmett Jenner (Ukip) 6,285
  • Sam Webber (Lib Dem) 2,836
  • Roisin Robertson (Green) 1,823

Majority: 13,564

Lewisham West and Penge

  • Jim Dowd (Lab) 24,347
  • Russell Jackson (Con) 11,633
  • Tom Chance (Green) 4,077
  • Gary Harding (Ukip) 3,764
  • Alex Feakes (Lib Dem) 3,709
  • Martin Powell-Davies (Ind) 391
  • David Hansom (Liberty GB) 160
  • George Whale (Change) 44

Majority: 12,714


  • Jo Johnson (Con) 28,152
  • Idham Ramadi (Ukip) 8.173
  • Nigel de Gruchy (Lab) 7,645
  • Peter Brooks (Lib Dem) 3,330
  • Tamara Galloway (Green) 1,732

Majority: 19,979

Digital Edition

Read the Bromley Times e-edition today
Family Notices 24

Latest from the Bromley Times