Candidates square up for capital battle

PUBLISHED: 15:54 02 April 2008 | UPDATED: 11:34 12 August 2010

CANDIDATES are lining up in the fight for seats on the London Assembly election on May 1. The capital is split up to 14 constituencies

CANDIDATES are lining up in the fight for seats on the London Assembly election on May 1.

The capital is split up to 14 constituencies for the assembly election on May 1, including Greenwich and Lewisham and Bexley and Bromley.

The London Assembly is made up of 25 members who are elected by Londoners at the same time as the mayor.

Eleven represent the whole of the capital and 14 represent the constituencies on three key issues in the capital - the Metropolitan Police Authority, the London Fire and Emergency Planning Authority and the London Development Agency.

Individuals running to represent Bexley and Bromley include James Cleverly for the Conservatives, Alex Heslop for Labour and Tom Papworth for the Liberal Democrats.

Other candidates are Ann Garrett for the Green Party; David Davis for the Left List; Mike Greenhough for the UK Independence Party (UKIP) and Miranda Suit for the Christian Peoples Alliance and Christian Party.

John Hemming-Clark is standing as Independents to Save Queen Mary's Hospital, Steven Uncles for The English Democrats Party and Paul Winnett for the National Front.

For Greenwich and Lewisham, voters can choose from 10 candidates including Len Duvall for Labour, Brian Robson for Liberal Democrats and Andy Jennings for the Conservatives.

Susan Luxton is standing for the Green Party, Chris Flood for the Socialist Alternative, Jennifer Jones for the Left List and Arnold Tarling for UKIP.

Also standing are Tess Culnane for the National Front, Stephen Hammond from the Christian Peoples Alliance and Christian Party and Johanna Munilla for the English Democrats Party.

The London Assembly has legal power to hold the mayor to account through the Mayor's Question Time and full meetings of the London Assembly.

It can also conduct investigations through committees and has the power to amend the mayor's budget and appoint staff at the Greater London Authority (GLA).

Current London Mayor Ken Livingstone is standing for re-election for Labour, Boris Johnson is the Conservative candidate and Brian Paddick is the Liberal Democrat choice.

Also running is Siân Berry for the Green Party, Gerard Batten for UKIP, Richard Barnbrook for the British National Party and Alan Craig for Christian Peoples Alliance and Christian Party.

Other candidates are Lindsey German for Left List, Winston McKenzie as independent and Matt O'Connor for the English Democrats.

* For more information, go to


Latest news

Yesterday, 10:00

Wondering what the weather has in store for us this weekend? Watch our Met Office video forecast.

Fri, 08:15

Ravens beaten by Peterborough United in FA Cup last weekend despite brave effort

Fri, 07:00

Now back from recording the second series of All Together Now, Brit School teacher and Bromley local Georg Tormann is now warming up for Christmas with his Beckenham-based choir.

Parents sporting ‘Say Yes To Bullers’ T-shirts packed into Bromley Civic Centre for the closing of a planning inquiry into a proposed school.

Wed, 07:00

There are three weeks left to donate to this year’s Christmas Charity Appeal and help to give families in need some happy memories around the festive period.

Tue, 08:54

Detectives investigating the fatal stabbing of 22-year-old Ayodeji Habeeb Azeez in Anerley have charged a 23-year-old man with murder.

Most read

Digital Edition

Read the Bromley Times e-edition today

Newsletter Sign Up

Bromley Times twice-weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Show Job Lists

Family Notices 24